For my second carved cake, I wanted to try something a bit more gravity defying. And my son Ian has a fascination with piggy banks. He also has been really into Toy Story, which if you didn’t know, has a piggy bank character.

So here he is!

If you are wondering how his head stays up, it’s actually very simple. There is a layer of cardboard, covered in foil, placed at a diagonal through the cake.  Piggy’s head and most of his behind are on top of this cardboard support, and a couple of drinking straws are standing up inside the front legs to keep the cardboard from smushing them down.

We’ve had one little problem though – what to do with all the cake! I mean, cake is great, but we can’t eat it every day, and if I’m going to keep experimenting, we are going to need someplace to put it that isn’t our stomachs.  We mentioned this problem to Matt’s brother Tim, while he was visiting last Sunday and enjoying a slice of  the then 3-day-old pumpkin cake, and he gave us a blank look. “Are you serious?” he asked.

And then we remembered. Tim goes to college! We can donate our cakes to all the hungry college students at Tim’s dorm. Problem solved. We ate a fair amount of this little piggy, but there was plenty left today when Matt handed it off to Tim.

I know I said the same thing about the pumpkin cake, but this was so much fun! I loved everything from the plotting on how to keep his head upright to the forming of his little piggy snout! And I have all kinds of ideas generating about what the next cake should be! I’m really hooked. So hooked that I’ve signed up for a cake decorating class. I’ve also volunteered to make a birthday cake for a friend’s daughter; a sweet little girl who happens to be allergic to… well, most of the things that usually go into cake. I happen to think that all little girls (and boys) should be able to enjoy cake on their birthdays, so I’m going to be trying out various allergen free cake recipes in the coming weeks.

But first, I think I’ll try a sponge cake. Sponge cake, I have recently learned, is the traditional cake for all those multi-tiered wedding cakes, so it sounds like a good cake to master. It also sounds like a good accompaniment to today’s batch of lemon curd, made from all the egg yolks I had leftover from the piggy cake recipe.

Sponge cake layered with lemon curd and berries… yum!

