Did you know a group of turkeys was called a “rafter”? I didn’t!

This particular rafter was inspired by another baking blogger, Bakerella.  http://www.bakerella.com/She’s become a star of the baking world after the creation of her cake pops. Her first book just came out this fall. http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/0811876373?ie=UTF8&tag=bakerella-20&linkCode=as2&camp=1789&creative=390957&creativeASIN=0811876373/

I’ve not yet read the book, but Bakerella was kind enough to offer directions online. They are super easy! You just crumble up the cake, mix it with frosting, and shape it into balls. Her version is then dipped in candy melts, which look like chocolate but are easier to work with. However, I must have gotten a bad batch, because my melted candy melts were gross. So I dumped them down the drain and switched to real chocolate. The bodies are semi-sweet, and the heads/tails are bittersweet. Yum!

These little guys were supposed to come with me to my mothers’ group today, but I ended up unable to go. Hmm. Maybe I’ll ship them off to my sister instead. She lives too far away to try out my cakes, but I’ve been told that these can handle a trip through the mail. Rachel, you reading this?

I also just found out that Ian’s school is looking for bake sale donations. I think this recipe will have to make a reappearance!

