Welcome to the place…where words come alive…

For all of you who don’t happen to be the parent of a young child, WordWorld is a PBS cartoon that tries to teach spelling. Everything, seriously, everything in the show is formed out of the letters that spell it’s name. For more info, you can check out on PBSkids here, (though I should warn you there’s a noisy musical intro) http://pbskids.org/wordworld/index_flash.html?seenIntro=yes

Ian, being very into letters, just loves this show.  A few weeks ago, he started asking for a WordWorld cake. And he kept asking, and asking, and asking….

Ian doesn’t ask for much, so when he does, I try my best to give it to him. It took me a while, and I made several other cakes in between, but I finally finished it today.  Apologies for the terrible picture quality.

 

The cake is covered with Swiss Meringue Buttercream. Oh, and remember how I said I’d mastered Swiss Meringue? I lied. I totally ruined my first batch, and only figured out what was going wrong after some advice from my new caking friend, Jenn, of http://fromscratchsf.wordpress.com/2011/03/08/tutorial-swiss-meringue-buttercream/
Jenn does a fantastic job of explaining the Swiss Meringue process, and I’ll be following her instructions to the letter from now on, because my second attempt came out fantastic!

 

The animals and buildings are made of fondant, and were a lot of fun to make. My favorite is Pig.

And of course, no WordWorld cake would be complete without a C-A-K-E, CAKE!

 

Did Ian love it? Oh yes he did. He spent most of the evening sitting like this, just staring at it. He has gotten very good about keeping his hands off, I only had to remind him once.

