I recently joined an online baking community called the Daring Kitchen, which posts monthly challenge recipes. These are quite a departure from my usual cake decorating posts, but they do introduce me to recipes I’d probably never try otherwise. This month’s recipe is definitely in that category: Maple Mousse in an edible container. The most prominent suggestion for a container was bacon cups, and since I’m having a rather un-creative month, I decided to go with that rather than come up with something interesting on my own. Of course, now that I’ve seen other bakers’ renditions of this challenge, I wish I’d given it more time. Oh well.

I made my bacon cups smaller than the suggested size. They were formed over an upside down mini-muffin pan, rather than the suggested regular muffin pan. I think this gave a better balance between the sweet mousse and salty bacon. And since my bacon was uncured (and thus less salty than other bacons) I think it needed the extra advantage.

I’ve never made mousse before – actually, I don’t think I’ve even eaten mousse before – so I’m not entirely sure if it turned out as it should. I did get some rave reviews from my tasters though, so I guess it was a success.  The only serious downside was cleaning up all the bacon grease afterward. I doubt I’ll make this again, unless someone requests it, but it was an interesting experiment, and I am looking forward to next month’s challenge. There is also a Daring Cooks portion of the Daring Kitchen, for non-dessert type challenges. I may join that section when I feel a little less overwhelmed by life.

The Daring Bakers requires me to post the following lines for my completed challenge:

The April 2011 Daring Bakers’ challenge was hosted by Evelyne of the blog Cheap Ethnic Eatz. Evelyne chose to challenge everyone to make a maple mousse in an edible container. Prizes are being awarded to the most creative edible container and filling, so vote on your favorite from April 27th to May 27th at http://thedaringkitchen.com!

