It’s been a long while since I’ve posted, friends. I’ve been pretty busy, and blogging hasn’t been foremost on my mind, but that doesn’t mean we haven’t had cake! Here are some pictures that are long overdue:

For a mom-friend and her 3 year old son. Chocolate cake with chocolate filling. Elmo is fondant, as are the crayons around the sides. This was probably my most successful batch of American buttercream. I wish I could remember what it was I did differently that made it so delicious.

Anthony’s cake was chocolate with chocolate filling. You wouldn’t know from looking at it, but man was this cake heavy!

Speaking of birthdays, my youngest had his first birthday last month, and though I was feeling really burnt out that week, I couldn’t miss making him a cake!

The train theme was his big brother’s idea. Ian suggests a new cake them about every other week.

This was my first attempt at a topsy-turvy cake. It’s definitely something I need to practice more, but it turned out ok.

Nathan’s cake was vanilla, with Swiss Meringue Buttercream filling. The train and other decorations are fondant.

My brother-in-law also had a birthday, way back in February. Tim spent a lot of his life in Moscow, and requested something Moscow themed for his cake. St Basil’s Cathedral started out as a joke, but I thought it would be fun. Tim’s cake was fondant free, chocolate with chocolate-hazelnut filling.

There was another birthday cake too, which I froze and then mailed to my sister in Tennessee. Sadly, I forgot to get a picture of that one before it was all wrapped up and ready for shipping.

