This cake was made for no particular reason, except that Ian requested a frog cake and I felt indulgent. Just for fun, I added a couple drops of food coloring to the batter to make it green on the inside.

The whole cake is with fondant, with fondant decorations. Making the little frog was fun. He was actually the second frog I made, as the first one was unexpectedly eaten early one morning while the adults in the house were not looking.

I’d been planning to make a batch of cookies for Easter, and I ended up without as much time as I’d have liked, but I did get to make a few. I used the opportunity to try out a new icing recipe, which I need to tweak a bit, but I think is very promising.

This one was for Tim again. It is meant to be a stack of books, but it doesn’t look nearly as nice as the cakes from which I drew inspiration. I guess that means I need to make more cake!

And finally, the largest cake I have done to date. This was for a Habitat For Humanity home dedication, and with the 4 dozen cupcakes alongside it, served 100 people. Egads!

This was the most delicious cake ever. Ever! It was alternating layers of chocolate and vanilla cake with Swiss Meringue buttercream filling and frosting. Oh, so good.

The flowers and lettering are of fondant. The picture doesn’t show the cupcakes well, but each of them had a fondant flower too. Fun!

