I’ve been running into people all over the internet talking about the wonder that is Oreo truffles, and I finally decided to try it. And they were indeed tasty!

I used Bakerella’s recipe, which you can see here. It’s pretty basic – one package of Oreo cookies, crushed into crumbs, mixed with one package cream cheese. Shape it into balls, chill, and dip the balls in chocolate. Bakerella recommends dipping chocolate, but here I used Ghiardelli’s white chocolate morsels. The trick to using morsels is that you need to add vegetable shortening to bring your chocolate to the right consistency. I used about two tablespoons of shortening per 11.5 oz bag of morsels.

Here you see the chocolate dipping process. Notice the warming plate on the bottom – it’s a coffee mug warmer! I happened to find it at my local thrift store and knew immediately that it could solve my former problems with dipping chocolate cooling too quickly. Just be sure to use a heat-tolerant container on it!

Then just set them to dry on a cookie sheet lined with wax paper. They do take a while to firm up, so being the impatient person that I am, I pop the whole tray in the freezer for 10 minutes or so. Once they’ve set, you can eat them as is, like I did, or let them come back to room temperature – as with many desserts, cold tends to dampen the flavor, so letting them warm up is what I’d recommend.  They’ll keep well in an airtight plastic container in the fridge. I’m not sure how long because they tend to be eaten long before they have a chance to go bad.

These truffles were a hit at my house, not suprisingly. However, I’m not the biggest white chocolate fan, so I got to thinking about how they would be in regular chocolate instead. And then it hit me.

Oh yes.

We are huge ginger lovers here, and I knew these would be a favorite. And I was right! I used the same formula: one package of cookies to one package of cream cheese. Next time, I think I’ll use a bit less cream cheese, to account for the smaller cookie package size.  Anyway, here they are all rolled out and ready to chill.

I chose semi-sweet chocolate chips for these, again with a bit of shortening to thin it. And this time I even remembered to save some of the cookie crumbs to sprinkle on top!

YUM!!

